Indiana Celebrates Top Authors

Business, Lifestyle

Four authors with Indiana ties were honored at last weekend’s 2017 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award Dinner.

Kekla Magoon: National Author Winner – $10,000 prize. A writer whose work is known and read throughout the country.

Lori Rader-Day: Regional Author Winner – $7,500 prize. A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana.

John David Anderson: Genre Excellence – Middle Grade Fiction Author Winner – $6,000 prize. Rotating category each year to recognize authors of excellence in specific genres and highlight the rich diversity of writing in the state. Middle grade fiction has a core audience of 8- to 12-year-olds. The author must be from Indiana or have lived in Indiana for at least five years to qualify.

Francesca Zappia: Emerging Author Winner – $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published within the past 10 years.

In addition to a cash prize, each winner’s chosen Indiana public library will receive a $2,500 grant from The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. Since the Award’s inception in 2009, selected authors have won a total of $214,500, and selected libraries have received $77,500 in grants.

“Every Hoosier has a story to share, and these talented authors are sharing their unique stories and perspectives in remarkable ways,” said Marianne Glick, Director at the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation. “It is an honor to recognize their work through the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award.”

Award nominations were submitted from across the state in early spring. Any published writer who was born in Indianaor who had lived in Indiana for at least five years was eligible. Selected authors were evaluated by a nine-member, statewide Award Panel based on their entire body of work.

Nominations for the 2018 Indiana Authors Award will open in February. Visit for more information.

About The Glick Fund: The Glick Fund was established by Gene and Marilyn Glick to support a variety of causes in central Indiana. In addition to establishing the Indiana Authors Award with The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, the Glick Philanthropies have invested substantially in the areas of affordable housing, education, arts and creative expression, basic needs and self-sufficiency.

About the Library Foundation: The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation promotes patronage and secures support for the advancement of programs, services and facilities of The Indianapolis Public Library to benefit a diverse learning community.


SOURCE Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

Share This: